Victory Day  of Bangladesh is the very significant event in our national life. Bangladeshi people are locally called “Bijoy Dibos” in Bangla. Here “Bijoy” means Victory and “Dibosh” means day.

History of Victory Day of Bangladesh

In 1947, Pakistan and India became independent from British rule. Pakistan has two parts. East Pakistan and West Pakistan. Bangladesh was known as East Pakistan. The West Pakistani rulers dominated, oppressed and suppressedus right from the beginning. We protested, but they tried to stop us by bullets.

The general election of 1970, the Awami League won majority seats. But without handing over power to Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. The West Pakistani army started mass killing on the night of 25 March 1971 in East Pakistan. On March 26, Major Zia Declared Independence of Bangladesh on behalf of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Who was then under arrest. From that day our liberation war began.

The students, teachers, youths, the EPR personnel, the police force and people from all walks of life launched a high resistance. Our freedom fighters did not have sufficient arms and ammunitions. The barbarians killed thousands of people, burnt their houses and looted everything. A reign of terror was let loose. About 30 lac people fled to India. The freedom fighters got training in India, entered Bangladesh and resorted to guerrilla warfare. In the meantime, India recognized Bangladesh, sent arms to help us and the joint forces inflicted crushing blow on the Pakistanis. At last, they were compelled to lay down arms on 16 December 1971.

Celebration of Victory Day of Bangladesh

The victory day first celebrated in 1972. The victory day of Bangladesh is a government holiday. All types of government offices and privet business closed that holiday. It is performed each year in a befitting manner throughout the Bangladesh. The victory day of Bangladesh reminds us that no oppressor can rule his people for a long time. Bangladesh has come to stay, it will stay and no power can undo it.

Apply Now
Download APP